Nikon 1.7 Teleconverter

by Gerhard

I got the Nikon 1.7 teleconverter today and tested it on my model, Lucas the Jack Russell. One can always rely on him for a good performance and a quick run.

Although the autofocus seem to be a bit slower(I must admit that the light was a bit low which can make the focus considerable slower) it still were more than capable following the tiger deluxe running straight at me. I can’t see any problem with the sharpness at all although theoretically it must be a bit softer, and also considering the fact that i used a ISO of 3200 due to the low lighting conditions. I used it on the 400mm F2.8 lens which convert it to a 680mm F4.8.

Overall i’m happy and can’t wait to shoot my first cricket game with it on Wednesday when the Eagles play the Cobras in Bloemfontein. Next week i’m covering the ICC Cricket Trophy in Gauteng where i will also put it through some testing.

My settings on the camera(D3) were as follow;

Exposure:  1/800sec.

Aperture: F5

ISO: 3200

Lucas Blog -02Gerhard

www.supermedia.co.za

