Two new world records in five minutes

by Gerhard

Cameron  vd Burgh and Roland Schoeman sets up new world records at the SA National Short Course Champs in Pietermaritzburg today the 8th of August 2009.

First Cameron won the 50m Breast stroke in a time of 25.43 sec and right after this event Roland won the 50m Butterfly in a time of 20.30 sec.

After his second world record for the night in the 100m breast Cameron had this to say;

“When I swim in the FINA/Arena World Cup series I get US$ 10 000 every-time I break a world record, so I am actually making life difficult for myself by taking so much time off the world marks here in Pietermaritzburg, but it just proves that I swim for the passion and its not always about the money,” said van der Burgh.

“It’s not like athletics. I can’t raise the bar a centimetre at each event. I can’t control speed according to fractions of a second. I just have to race as fast as possible.”

“I am in good form now having come to KwaZulu Natal straight after the FINA World Championships, and with the African leg of the FINA/Arena Swimming World Cup happening in Durban from October 16-17, I will have to see how my form is then. But the Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban is more conducive to fast times.”

“The swimming pool there has touch-pads on both ends of the pool. Here in Pietermaritzburg, there are touch pads only at one end, and I am slipping a bit on the wall when I do the turns at the other end which probably costs me around 0,2 secs in a race.”

Here images of Cameron and Roland celebrating their world records. Photos taken with a Nikon D3 and a 400mm F2.8 lens.

Cameron Blog-20

Roland Blog - 20Gerhard

More images on www.supermedia.co.za

